Comments (0)
News |  27 Jun 2016 17:25 |  By RnMTeam

Indian film musicians rock IIFA 2016

MUMBAI: The 17th Nexa IIFA Awards took over the Spanish capital Madrid with an outstanding show over the weekend. Giving Indian cinema a global platform, the Nexa IIFA Awards were held at the IFEMA – Feria de Madrid.

Music director Pritam performed with Spanish artists as a once in a lifetime on-stage production. The performances also included Meet Brothers hit songs featuring Kanika Kapoor, Benny Dayal, and Neeti Mohan. Monali Thakur and Papon did serenade the audience with their melodious vocals. Besides, actor Parineeti Chopra, Diljit Dosanjh, Sooraj Pancholi, Elli Avram and Daisy Shah will perform on the popular numbers of the year. In addition to that Sonu Nigam and Jermaine Jackson performed together at IIFA ROCK 2016.

Read on to know more about IIFA Rocks 2016

The awards ceremony witnessed remarkable acts along with some musical extravaganza by Bollywood's very own actors and musicians. Have a look on the winners’ list of IIFA 2016.

In the Best Lyrics category, the nominated lyricists were Varun Grover (for Moh Moh Ke Dhaage), Irshad Kamil (for Agar Tum Sath Ho – Tamasha), and Amitabh Bhattacharya (for Gerua – Dilwale). And the award was grabbed by Varun Grover for ‘Moh Moh Ke Dhaage’ (Dum Laga Ke Haisha).

In the Best Female Playback Singer category, singers like Sunidhi Chauhan for ‘Girls Like to Swing’ (Dil Dhadakne Do), Kanika Kapoor for ‘Chittiyaan Kalaiyaan’ (Roy), Monali Thakur for ‘Moh Moh Ke Dhaage’ (Dum Laga Ke Haisha) and Shreya Ghoshal were nominated for ‘Deewani Mastani’ (Bajirao Mastani). National award winning singer Monali got the Best Female Playback Singer Award for ‘Moh Moh Ke Dhaage’.

In the Best Male Playback Singer category, Arijit Singh was nominated for two songs, Hamari Adhuri Kahani (Hamari Adhuri Kahani) and Sooraj Dooba Hai (Roy). Another nomination was Papon for ‘Moh Moh Ke Dhaage’. Papon got the Best Male Playback Singer Award.

Besides, in the Best Music Direction category Meet Bros, Anjjan, Ankit Tiwari and Amaal Mallik bagged the award while the nominees were Pritam for ‘Bajrangi Bhaijaan’ and Sanjay Leela Bhansali for ‘Bajirao Mastani’.