Comments (0)
Powered by
Sponsored by
News |  22 Apr 2016 19:18 |  By RnMTeam

Gojira releases 'Stranded' off 'Magma'; album to release in two months

MUMBAI: French heavy metallers Gojira unveiled the video of ‘Stranded’, one of the ten tracks from the much-awaited album 'Magma'. The brand new studio album is scheduled to release on 17 May via Roadrunner Records. Magma will be Gojira's first studio album in four years, and sixth twenty years of its existence.

Known for blending several styles, Gojira's upcoming album had the fans guessing about Magma’s soundscape and ‘Stranded’ surely provides a glimpse of that. ‘L’Enfant Sauvage’ – the band’s fifth album – was released under Roadrunner Records too. With the single, the band also released the album artwork for Magma on their official website.

Magma track listing -

01. The Shooting Star
02. Silvera
03. The Cell
04. Stranded
05. Yellow Stone
06. Magma
07. Pray
08. Only Pain
09. Low Lands
10. Liberation

With almost over 11,000 L’Enfant Sauvage copies sold in United States on its first week of release, the band debuted at no. 34 on the Billboard 200 chart. The previous album to L’Enfant Sauvage sold just over 6000 copies, and landed at no. 138. The nature of Gojira’s growth only leads to the indication that Magma’s first week of the release could become the band’s biggest so far. Vocalist Joe Duplantier and drummer Mario Duplantier penned the lyrics to the song ‘Stranded’, and frontman Joe believes people’s shorter period of attentions restricted the compositions to be shorter than its usual previous efforts. A lot of the songs from the album will be four-minute long, and the band eventually decided to include ten songs (instead of twelve, as initially decided).

The recordings to the latest studio album were put on hold after the death of the Duplantier brothers’ mother."Mario was recording drums, and I was playing guitar with him, just trying to help him know where he's at in the song, and both of us would start crying at the same time," Joe told “The songs were half-written while she was sick," he said. "After she died, I still had to finish them. So one song was like, 'You're going to make it,' but the second verse is 'You didn't make it,’" added Joe.

Check out 'Stranded' -