Comments (0)
Powered by
Sponsored by
Press Release |  07 Mar 2017 12:56 |  By RnMTeam

Artist Partner Group, Atlantic Records and Universal Pictures team up to unleash 'Fast & Furious 8: The Album'

MUMBAI: Artist Partner Group, Atlantic Records and Universal Pictures have announced the release of “Fast & Furious 8: The Album,” the musical companion to the much-anticipated Universal Pictures film of the same name. The album arrives in stores and at all online retailers on Friday, 14 April 2017, as the ultimate companion to Universal’s Fast & Furious 8, which opens in theatres everywhere the same day.

Fast & Furious 8: The Album is available for pre-order now, with all pre-orders joined by an instant download of the album’s first single, ‘Go Off,’ by the unstoppable hip-hop trifecta of Lil Uzi Vert, Quavo and Travis Scott. The explosive track has just arrived at multiple formats of radio nationwide. The ‘Go Off’ companion video also premiered today and is streaming now at Lil Uzi Vert’s official YouTube channel. Not to be missed: Lil Uzi Vert rides a wrecking ball in this video.

Exclusive new music releases and companion video premieres - featuring never-before-seen footage from the film are slated for the weeks leading up to the release of “Fast & Furious 8: The Album.” Friday, March 10 will see the Spanish version of Pitbull and J Balvin’s “Hey Ma” (Feat. Camila Cabello) released to all DSPs. That same day, the track’s companion video is set for an exclusive debut on Telemundo’s morning show ‘Un Nuevo Día,’ followed by music video clips and behind-the-scenes content airing across four additional live Telemundo shows. The companion video will also be added to rotation the following day on their Telemundo’s network NBC Universo.

Next up, will be ‘Good Life’ from the ultimate bay area duo of multi-platinum superstar G-Eazy and Grammy nominated R&B songstress Kehlani, which is set for release on Friday 17 March, along with an official companion video. ‘Good Life’ will be the follow-up to G-Eazy's global phenomenon No. 1 single ‘Me Myself & I,’ feat. Bebe Rexha, which was streamed more than one billion times worldwide and was featured on G-Eazy’s RIAA certified platinum album ‘When It's Dark Out’, which debuted at No. 1 on Billboard's R&B/Hip-Hop chart and top rap albums chart. Kehlani’s critically-acclaimed debut album ‘Sweetsexysavage’ (featuring lead singles ‘Distraction’ and ‘CRZY’) made a phenomenal January 2017 debut at No. 3 on the SoundScan/Billboard 200, while coming in at No. 1 on the R&B albums chart.

The highly-anticipated album includes an impressive total of 13 exclusive new tracks curated specifically for ‘Fast & Furious 8’, featuring unparalleled collaborations by Young Thug, 2 Chainz, Wiz Khalifa and PnB Rock; Jeremih, Ty Dolla $ign and Sage The Gemini; and PnB Rock, Kodak Black and A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie. Furthermore, Migos, Post Malone, 21 Savage, Lil Yachty, Kevin Gates and more round out the star-studded track list, contributing their own exclusive new songs for the dynamic album. See full track listing below.

Continuing its long standing partnership with Universal Pictures and the Fast & Furious series, Dodge will be the exclusive automobile partner throughout the album campaign. As part of the partnership, each music video from ‘Fast & Furious 8: The Album’ will feature Dodge muscle including the Challenger SRT Hellcat, Charger SRT Hellcat and Dodge Viper ACR, as well as Dom’s Ice Charger and GTX from the film itself.

“Fast & Furious 8: The Album” marks the return of the hugely successful partnership between Atlantic Records and Universal Pictures. The two companies previously teamed up for “Furious 7: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack,” which proved a chart-busting smash upon its 2015 release. The soundtrack topped the SoundScan/Billboard 200 while hitting No. 1 on the iTunes Store’s overall ‘Top Albums’ chart in 77 countries. The album is highlighted by Wiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth’s emotional tribute ‘See You Again’. The song has officially entered the history books as one of the decade’s biggest singles, topping Billboard’s “Hot 100” for a stunning 12 weeks. Currently certified 7x platinum by the RIAA, “See You Again,” is indeed a planetary phenomenon, with worldwide streams in excess of five billion. The song’s deeply touching companion video now exceeds 2.4 billion individual views – the first-ever hip-hop video to achieve the billion-view milestone and YouTube’s second most-viewed video of all time.

“Fast & Furious 8: The Album” was produced by Warner Music Group executives Mike Caren and Kevin Weaver. Long-time collaborators Caren and Weaver most recently worked together co-producing the critically acclaimed Furious 7 soundtrack, including the multi-platinum single ‘See You Again,’ alongside Universal Pictures, and the recent Suicide Squad smash soundtrack album. Caren has been responsible for signing more than 20 Gold and Platinum-selling artists including Trey Songz, T.I., Flo Rida and Wiz Khalifa. Weaver, a five-time Grammy nominee, has been at the helm of Atlantic Records’ film/tv division, garnering massive success for countless projects, with highlights including the Furious 7 soundtrack/singles and the multiplatinum single ‘We Own It’ by Wiz Khalifa and 2 Chainz from ‘Fast & Furious 6’ with Universal Pictures.