Comments (0)
News |  22 May 2015 19:26 |  By RnMTeam

Ivor Novello 2015 winners: Clean Bandit's 'Rather Be' bags two trophies

MUMBAI: The 60th Ivor Novello Awards were announced on Thursday, 21 May at the Grosvenor House in London, for which Grammy Award-winning British electronic group Clean Bandit won two awards for their chart-topping successful single 'Rather Be'. The band took home the Best Contemporary Song award as well as the PRS for Music Most Performed Work award.

Brit Award winner Ed Sheeran won the Ivor Novello Songwriter of the Year award for his chart topping album 'X'. Sheeran had previously won the Ivor in the Best Song Musically and Lyrically category, back in 2012 for his track 'The A Team.' This year, that award, was presented to Billboard Award winning singer Hozier for his track 'Take Me to Church.' London-based rock band Bombay Bicycle Club won the Album Award for their fourth record, 'So Long, See You Tomorrow'.

Four-time Ivor Novello Award winning Scottish rock/soul singer Annie Lennox took home the BASCA Fellowship award, while pop idol Boy George won the PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music Award. Meanwhile, the Lifetime Achievement award was given to Black Sabbath's Geezer Butler, Tony Iommi, Ozzy Osbourne and Bill Ward.

Most Excellent Order of the British Empire title holding British musicians, Albert Hammond and Judith Weir, won the Outstanding Song Collection and The Ivors Classical Music awards respectively. Singer/songwriter Natalie Holt and Martin Phipps won Best Television Soundtrack award for their work in 'The Honourable Woman', while David Holmes won Best Original Film Score award for his composition in the film ''71'.

The Ivors Inspiration Award was presented to Manic Street Preachers' James Dean Bradfield, Sean Moore and Nicky Wire. The Ivors Special Anniversary Award was presented to Bob Geldof and Midge Ure, while Paul Williams was named recipient of the PRS for Music Special International Award.

The Ivor Novello Awards were created by BASCA (British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors) to celebrate, honour and reward excellence in British and Irish songwriting and composing. Speaking on the awards, BASCA Chairman, Simon Darlow said, "BASCA is delighted that in their 60th year The Ivors continue to celebrate the excellence of British and Irish songwriters and composers. From the BASCA Fellowship – the highest honour the Academy can bestow, to awards for works released last year, this year's ceremony has represented a wonderful array of talent. Congratulations to everyone who has received an Ivor Novello Award today."