| 07 Aug 2020
Universal Music Publishing inks worldwide deal with New Order

MUMBAI: Universal Music Publishing has inked an exclusive worldwide deal with British Rock band New Order. The agreement was announced by Universal Music Publishing, President of Europe and UK, Paul Connolly. The deal will cover the entire catalogue and tracks created by New Order’s original band members, including classic songs such as ‘Blue Monday’, ‘Regret’, ‘Bizarre Love Triangle’ and ‘True Faith’.

Prime Management’s Rebecca Boulton stated in the release, “We’re really happy to be signing our catalogue to Universal Music Publishing and consolidating our great relationship with Paul Connolly, Darryl Watts and all the fantastic staff at Universal.  They’ve done an excellent job on the Joy Division catalogue over the last eight years and we’re looking forward to continuing that success with New Order. It wasn’t an easy decision to make the move, however the time felt right for change for New Order”

Speaking on the deal band member and bassist Peter Hook said, “When you get to 58 there aren't many momentous occasions in your life, but I had one recently. Our publishing was up for renewal and Darryl Watts at Universal (who are doing a wonderful job with Joy Division) said to me ‘I've been waiting 20 years for this moment,’ And you know what... so had I!”

The band was formed in 1980 and has career sales of more than eight million albums. New Order has emerged as one of the most critically acclaimed and influential bands of the last thirty years.