Comments (0)
News |  29 Jun 2012 19:14 |  By RnMTeam

Border areas to have 33 FM radio channels in Phase III

NEW DELHI: The government is to allow bidders in Jammu and Kashmir, the North-eastern states and the Island territories to bid for FM Radio channels in Phase III even above the national limit on ownership of channels of 15 per cent per entity.

15  FM stations will be set up in border areas of Jammu and Kashmir and 18 in the border areas of the seven states of North-east.

This is being done to encourage bidding for channels in these areas, Information & Broadcasting Ministry sources told

FM broadcasters in Jammu and Kashmir, North-eastern states and the island territories will be required to pay half the rate of annual license fee for an initial period of three years from the date from which the license fee becomes payable and the permission period of 15 years begins.

The concessional fee had also been revised for FM channels already existing in these territories with effect of the issuance of the Guidelines of the third phase of FM Radio expansion in the country in July 2011.

Apart from the fee relaxation, it is proposed that Prasar Bharati infrastructure would be made available at half the lease rentals for similar categories cities in these areas.

FM Phase III expansion in the northeast, includes 31 in the seven states of the northeast, six in Jammu and Kashmir and nine in the island territories: three each in Daman and Diu, Lakshdweep, and Andaman and Nicobar.