| 01 Dec 2021
New DRM compatible transmitter dedicated to Radio Kashmir at Jammu

NEW DELHI: A new 300 KW High Power DRM compatible transmitter has been dedicated to Radio Kashmir in Jammu.

Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office, Jitendra Singh, was present on the occasion.

The new transmitter will cover an aerial radius of 90 to 100 kilometers, and replaces an old analog transmitter.

Singh said the Centre was committed to the empowerment of radio broadcast, and added that the government had initiated the revival of All India Radio (AIR).

He added that the Government was aware of the reach and potential of AIR and that was the reason for Prime Minister Modi choosing to air his regular programme ‘Mann Ki Baat'. AIR can play an important role in the dissemination of various welfare schemes initiated by the Centre, he added.

AIR Director General Faiyaaz Sheheryar said, "As a part of migration to Digital Radio, it has been decided that by the year 2017, a complete switch over to digital mode will be made. All India Radio started with small leaps in this direction way back in 2013."

As DRM transmitters can transmit signals both in analog and digital modes. DRM technology is regarded as a gamechanger for digital radio in the country.

DRM radio broadcasts also enable additional value added services such as improved audio quality, stereo capability, single frequency operation, transmitting maximum four services or channels simultaneously from the same transmitter, vehicular, portable and fixed reception, less susceptibility to fading effects and improved reception reliability.

AIR sources said other future plans for Radio Kashmir, Jammu, include replacement of the old 10 kW transmitter by a new transmitter towards the end of next year.

Meanwhile, the Kothagudem-based AIR station in Karnataka is to go digital soon for improving its transmission quality and expanding its reach beyond the primary expected coverage area.

AIR Bengaluru is already testing in simulcast mode, 612 kHz analogue + 621 kHz DRM. The current schedule is 5.55 am to 3.00 pm and 5.30 pm to 11.10 pm.