Comments (0)
Powered by
Sponsored by
News |  28 Sep 2012 16:06 |  By RnMTeam

Red FM to award 'Radio Song of the Year' at GIMA

MUMBAI: As part of its partnership with the Global Indian Music Academy (GIMA) awards for the third consecutive year, Red FM will decide and award the ‘Radio Song of the Year’. The station has also initiated various activities that will give listeners an opportunity to attend the award ceremony to be held on 1 October at Yash Raj Studio Mumbai.

The station ran a campaign to determine the ‘Radio Song of the Year’ based on public demand. Listeners got the chance to vote for their favourite song amongst five nominations given by Red FM. The song that received the highest votes will be awarded at the ceremony.

Red FM senior VP projects and programming Nisha Narayanan said, “GiMA is a fantastic celebration of music and entertainment. We are delighted to have partnered with them for the third consecutive year. This partnership will truly help us engage our listeners in a unique manner. Our activities have garnered a huge response and through this association we have given our listeners a chance to vote for the ‘Radio song of the Year’, the winner of which will be felicitated by Red FM at the GIMA ceremony.”

Six winners have bagged the passes for GIMA and to interact with their favourite celebrities. The station tested the music knowledge of listeners on the evening show ‘Mumbai Local’ on 27-28 September.

Activations from the tie-up commenced last month with the nomination party attended by stalwarts from the music industry. GiMA nominated stars performed at the party and were also roped in for a ‘Gaake Bajaa’ activity on the station. The activity also gave listeners the opportunity to attend the party by entering a contest ‘Ghanti Sun, Party Mein Ja’ held on the station earlier.

An initiative by Wizcraft International Entertainment, GiMA recognizes talent across various genres of Indian music such as bollywood, classical, ghazal, devotional, folk and contemporary music. The Advisory Board members of GiMA include stalwarts such as Hariharan, Javed Akhtar, Mukesh Bhatt, Prasoon Joshi, Pt Shiv Kumar Sharma, Dr  L Subramaniam, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra, Resul Pookutty, Shankar Mahadevan, Shubha Mudgal and Vishal Bhardwaj amongst others.