Comments (0)
News |  19 Jul 2010 16:16 |  By RnMTeam

Mirchi Music Awards honors south music industry

MUMBAI: After felicitating the Hindi music industry for two years, Radio Mirchi conducted the first leg of Mirchi Music Awards South 2009 on 17 July in Chennai 

The star-studded night saw the coming of the cr?¨me de la cr?¨me of the South Indian music fraternity to recognise the achievements of its musicians.

The awards recognised talent in the four languages, namely Kannada, Tamil, Telugu and Malayalam.

In Kannnada, Shreya Ghoshal and Chetan won the honors for film female and male vocalists respectively where as Mano Murthy took the award for best film music composer. Raj The Show Man won the album of the year where as Marali Mareyagi from Savari won the song of the year. The track also won the Mirchi Listener Choice Song. Suvarna TV will telecast the Kannada version of the award.

In Malayalam, Shreya Ghoshal once again won the laurels for best female vocalist- film where as K J Yesudas won award for best male vocalist. Yesudas also won the lifetime achievement award. M Jayachandran took home the award for the best film music composer from the album Banaras which also won the album of the year award. Madhuram Ghayathi from the album was also  awarded as the song of the year  Asianet Plus will air the Malayalam telecast of the award.

In Tamil, Janaki Iyer was awarded the best female vocalist- film, Madhubalakrishnan won the male counterpart of the award. Yuvan Shankar Raja pocketed the award for best music composer for Siva Manasula Sakthi while Na Muthukumar won teh best lyricist award for penning the songs of the same film. Harris Jayaraj's Ayan won the album of the year. Azhagaai Pookkuthey  from the album Ninaithale Inikkum took home the song of the year award  Tamil telecast of the awards can be caught on Star Vijay TV.

Recognising the talent in Telugu, the best female vocalist-film award was taken by Sunitha while Hemchandra took the male vocalist award. Mani Sharma cornered the music director award for Ek Niranjan's tittle track. DSP's Aarya-2 was awarded the album of the year where as Ringa Ringa from the album won the song of the year. Viewers can catch the Telugu telecast of the awards on Zee Telugu 

Speaking at the event, ENIL CEO Prashant Panday said, Mirchi Music Awards South celebrates excellence in music; it is a chronicle of the South Indian Music industry. The integrity and dedication behind Mirchi Music Awards is what makes it unique. The Awards salute the hard work, passion and the immense creative talent of our music industry  Over a period of time we will see the Mirchi Music Awards South including other genres of music as well. For us at Mirchi this is our way of saying â€?Musicge Mirchiya Salaam'.

Hosted by RJ TJ and Dhanya the function saw performances by Karthik, Chitra, Jassie Gift, Haricharan, Charmee, Naresh Iyer, Gurukiran, and Aindrita Ray on the best tracks of the year.

Click here to view the complete list of the winners.