RnM Team    30 Aug 10 15:05 IST

Big FM, the radio arm of Reliance Broadcast Network Limited and Goodknight Advanced presented the �Big Marathi Music Awards 2010'. The event was organised to recognise and honour the talented lot from the Marathi music industry who have contributed to take Marathi music to greater heights.

Highy versatile singer, Lata Mangeshkar, also known as the Nightingale of India bagged the Lifetime Achievement Award for Best Singer. The others winners under this category were Shrinivas Khale (Best Music Director) and Mangesh Padgaonkar (Best Lyricist).

Natrang bagged all the awards in the Film category. The winners were Guru Thakur (Best Lyricist for Khel Mandala), Ajay Atul (Best Music), Ajay Gogavale (Best Male Singer for Khel Mandala), Bela Shende (Best Female Singer for Vajale Ki Bara) and Zee Entertainment Enterprises Pvt Ltd (Big Song of the Year for Apsara Ali) 

The awardees for the Non-film category were Sandip Khare (Best lyricist), Salil Kulkarni (Best Music), Sanjeev Abhyankar (Best Male Singer) and Padmaja Phenani (Best Female Singer).

The awards for the Technical category were given to Avdhoot Wadkar (Best Recordist), Vijay Dayal (Best Sound Mixing), Anil Mohile (Contribution to Marathi Music), Madhav Pawar (Honour of Musicians for tabla and other percussions) and Prabhakar Jog (Honour of Musicians for violin).

The announcement of the awards saw a large number of entries from the Marathi music industry. These entries were judged by jury members from the industry including Suresh Wadkar, Swanand Kirkire and Milind Ingale who ensured utmost transparency for the nomination process in the film, non-film, technical category as well as for the life time achievement award 

After jury nominations, listeners were asked for public voting across 6 west zone stations of Mumbai, Goa, Solapur, Gwalior, Baroda and Indore. Voters were also invited through Big FM IVR 5055454 as well as online on their website. Public could vote for a period of three weeks after which the final winners were shortlisted.

Commenting on the initiative, Big FM business head Soumen Ghosh Choudhury said, We at Big FM are delighted to announce the prestigious awards. This is part of our endeavour to entertain the local populace with local content and music. The idea of honouring stalwarts and talent from the Marathi fraternity came was sown when we launched the first ever Marathi show – Masala Chaha. The show gained tremendous popularity highlighting that the Marathi music industry had not received its due credit. We are

 1  2  Next Page >>

Comments: 0
A+ | A- Set Default

Print | Share | Email 

You are not logged in. Please Login or Continue as a Guest.

  Add Comment  
No Comments Found for this Story