Comments (0)
Powered by
Sponsored by
News |  30 Apr 2014 19:09 |  By RnMTeam

National Film Awards ceremony to be aired live on AIR

NEW DELHI: The 61st National Film Awards for 2013 will be presented by President Pranab Mukherjee on 3 May, the same day India's first feature film 'Raja Harishchandra' by DG Phalke was released in 1913. The function will be broadcast live on All India Radio (AIR)from the stately Vigyan Bhavan from 5.45 pm on all their national channels.

Prior to that, AIR will carry an interview of Shankar Mohan, Director of the Directorate of Film Festivals, at 8.15 pm on 1 May.

The curtain-raiser, a featurised programme, of the awards will be aired on 2 May at 8.15 pm with an interview with Information and Broadcasting Ministry Secretary Bimal Julka. On 3 May at 9.30 pm, AIR will broadcast a report on the award ceremony on its national hook-up.

Hindi film 'Madras Cafe' and the Bengali film 'Jaatishwar' dominated the music and sound awards in the 61st National Film Awards.

While 'Jaatishwar' received awards for both male playback singer for Rupankar for the song 'E Tumi Kemon Tumi' and best music direction for Kabir Suman, 'Madras Café' won awards for Nihar Ranjan Sanal for local sound recording and Biswajit Chatterjee for sound design.

The best female singer award went to Bela Shende for the song 'Khura Khura' in the Marathi film 'Tuhya Dharma Koncha'. Muthukumar walked away with the award for the lyrics for the song 'Ananda Yaazhai' for the Tamil film 'Thanga Meengal' got the best lyric award.

D Yuvaraj won the award for Re-recordist of the final mixed track in the Malayalam film 'Swapaanam'. Shantanu Moitra got the award for best background score in the film 'Na Bangaaru Talli' (Telugu).

Gulzar, the eminent poet, lyricist and filmmaker will be presented with the Dadasaheb Phalke Award on the same day.