Comments (0)
Powered by
Sponsored by
News |  13 Mar 2014 22:09 |  By RnMTeam

Community Radio Stations in Odisha and Uttarakhand bag two awards each in annual CRS Awards

NEW DELHI: The Yerlavani Community Radio run by Yerala Projects Society, Sangli in Maharashtra has won the Most Creative /Innovative Programme Content awards for "Changes in cropping and agricultural practices as per environmental change".

The second award in this category went to Community Radio JU run by Jadavpur University, Kolkata for 'Sunno Theke Suru – Types of Quadrilateral'.

Information and Broadcasting Ministry secretary Bimal Julka presented the awards as part of the third National Community Radio Awards.

In the category of Thematic Awards, the first prize went to Anna Community Radio run by Educational Multimedia Research Centre, Anna University, Chennai, for 'Putholi', while the second award went toKumaon Vani run by the Energy and Resource Institute, Uttarakhand, for 'Bazar Laye Bochhar' and the third prize was won by Radio Madhuban run by Prajapita Brahma Kumaris Ishwariya Vishwa Vidyalaya, Rajasthan, for 'Gruhasan Se Singhashan'.

In the Community Engagement category, the first prize went to Saiyere Jo Radio run by Saiyere Jo Sangathan, Gujarat, for 'Khaso Sashan'. The second went to Radio Vishnu run by Shri Vishnu Engineering College for Women, Andhra Pradesh, for 'Vijayapadham', while the third went to Pantnagar Janvani run by G. B. Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Uttarakhand, for 'Gaon ki Baat'.

For promoting local culture, the awards went to Voice of SOA Community run by Siksha O Anusandhana University, Bhubaneswar for 'Kandhai Katha', Radio Kissan run by Association for Integrated Development, Odisha, for 'Ama Kala Ama Sanskriti', and Community Radio Sarang run by St. Aloysius College, Mangalore, for 'Dudi Nalike (Kunitha)'.

The lone award for Sustainability Model went to Radio Media Village, St Joseph College of Communication, Kerala.

The entries for this year's national Community Radio awards were invited from operational community radio stations till 31 January 2014.

A total of 131 entries from 68 community radio stations were received. An Independent Jury of peers was constituted to screen the awards.

The National Community Radio awards were instituted by the Ministry in 2012 to promote better programming on Community Radio Stations. These awards are given in five categories.