Comments (0)
News |  11 Feb 2019 15:55 |  By RnMTeam

Sony Music artists big win at 61st Annual Grammy Awards

MUMBAI: Sony Music Entertainment artists representing a diverse range of genres from across the company’s labels were recognized for their outstanding achievements tonight at the 61st Annual Grammy Awards, held at the Staples Center in Los Angeles and hosted by 15-time Grammy winner Alicia Keys.

Honored artists included Childish Gambino, H.E.R., Silk City, Future, Leon Bridges, Buddy Guy, Willie Nelson, Charlie Wilson, Kirk Franklin and Pharrell Williams.

A number of Sony Music artists took the stage for live performances. Camila Cabello opened the ceremony with a colorful Broadway-inspired rendition of “Havana” featuring special guests Ricky Martin, Young Thug and J Balvin. Miley Cyrus joined Shawn Mendes for his hit “In My Blood”. H.E.R. delivered her soulful funk on “Hard Place”. Host Alicia Keys sat down for a music interlude, introducing her segment by playing “The Entertainer” on two pianos, then serenaded Killing Me Softly, Unforgettable, Lucid Dreams, Use Somebody, Doo Wop (That Thing), Boo’d Up and Empire State of Mind. Travis Scott delivered No Bystanders and “Stop Trying to Be God” with James Black and Earth, Wind and Fire. Chloe x Halle performed Where Is The Love.

The night also featured a number of unique collaborations and Grammy moments. A host of artists paid tribute to MusiCares Person of the Year honoree Dolly Parton. Dolly performed Here You Come Again with Kacey Musgraves and Katy Perry; Jolene with Miley Cyrus; After the Gold Rush with Maren Morris and Miley Cyrus; Red Shoes with Little Big Town; and 9 to 5 with the full ensemble and the crowd on its feet. Jennifer Lopez paid tribute to Motown performing a show-stopping medley with Alicia Keys, Ne-Yo and Smokey Robinson.

Presenters included BTS, Chloe x Halle, Leon Bridges, Kane Brown, Luke Combs, John Mayer and Meghan Trainor.

Congratulations to all the following Sony Music winners!

Record of the Year

This Is America - Childish Gambino

Donald Glover and Ludwig Goransson, producers; Derek Mixed By Ali Ali and Riley Mackin, engineers/mixers; Mike Bozzi, mastering engineer

Song Of The Year

This Is America - Donald Glover and Ludwig Goransson, songwriters (Childish Gambino)

Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album

My Way, Willie Nelson

Best Dance Recording

Electricity - Silk City and Dua Lipa, featuring Diplo and Mark Ronson

Best Rock Song

Masseduction - Jack Antonoff and Annie Clark, songwriters (St. Vincent). Track from Masseduction

Best R&B Performance

Best Part - H.E.R. Featuring Daniel Caesar. Track from: H.E.R.

Best Traditional R&B Performance [tie]

Bet Ain’t Worth The Hand”

Leon Bridges

Track from: Good Thing

Made For Love - Charlie Wilson Featuring Lalah Hathaway. Track from: In It To Win It

Best Urban Contemporary Album:

Everything Is Love - The Carters

Best R&B Album


Best Rap Performance [tie]

King's Dead

Kendrick Lamar, Jay Rock, Future and James Blake

Track from: Black Panther The Album Music From And Inspired By

Best Rap/Sung Performance

This Is America - Childish Gambino

Best Gospel Performance/Song

Never Alone - Tori Kelly Featuring Kirk Franklin; Kirk Franklin and Victoria Kelly are songwriters. Track from: Hiding Place

Best Contemporary Christian Music Performance/Song

You Say - Lauren Daigle; Lauren DaigleJason Ingram and Paul Mabury, songwriters

Best Contemporary Christian Music Album

Look Up Child - Lauren Daigle (Producers Jason Ingram and Paul Mabury)

Best Latin Pop Album

Sincera - Claudia Brant

Best Traditional Blues Album

The Blues Is Alive And Well - Buddy Guy

Best Song Written For Visual Media

Shallow - Lady Gaga, Mark Ronson, Anthony Rossomando and Andrew Wyatt, songwriters (Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper), Track from: A Star Is Born

Best Boxed Or Special Limited Edition Package

Squeeze Box -  The Complete Works Of “Weird Al” Yankovic

Meghan Foley, Annie Stoll & Al Yankovic, art directors (“Weird Al” Yankovic)

Producer Of The Year, Non-Classical

Pharrell Williams

Apes*** (The Carters) (T)

Man Of The Woods (Justin Timberlake) (A)

No One Ever Really Dies (N.E.R.D) (A)

Best Immersive Audio Album

Eye In The Sky - 35th Anniversary Edition

Alan Parsons, surround mix engineer; Dave Donnelly, PJ Olsson & Alan Parsons, surround mastering engineers; Alan Parsons, surround producer (The Alan Parsons Project)

Best Music Video

This Is America

Childish Gambino

 Hiro Murai, video director; Ibra Ake, Jason Cole & Fam Rothstein, video producers

Special Recognition

Producer Of The Year, Non-Classical

Pharrell Williams

Apes*** (The Carters) (T)

Man Of The Woods (Justin Timberlake) (A)

No One Ever Really Dies (N.E.R.D) (A)

Best Remixed Recording

Walking Away (Mura Masa Remix)

Alex Crossan, remixer (Haim)