Comments (0)
Powered by
Sponsored by
News |  07 Apr 2016 16:13 |  By RnMTeam

Bajirao Mastani scores five awards, Arijit adjudged Best Live Performer at GiMA 2016

MUMBAI: Bajirao Mastaani won the first three awards of Best Background Score, Best Music Arranger and Programmer and Best Engineer awarded to Sanchit Balhara, Sahil-Pritesh and Tanay Gajjar at the GiMa awards held at the Reliance Media Works, Film City, Mumbai on Wednesday evening.

Director Sanjay Leela Bhansali also won Best Music Director for Bajirao Mastaani. Singer Shreya Ghoshal also walked away with the Best Playback Singer Female singer award. Bollywood’s legendary star Amitabh Bachchan won the award for the Song of the Year performed by a Celebrity for the song ‘Atrangi Yarri’ for the film Waazir. Yo Yo Honey Singh alongside Sonu Nigam and Bickram Ghosh were tied for Best Pop Song. Arijit Singh  was awarded the Wizcraft Honor for Best Live Performer. He also walked away with the honours in four more categories-- MTV GiMA Duet of the year for Airlift song ‘Soch Na Sake’, Most Popular Radio Song of the year, Best Film Song for the runaway hit ‘Gerua’ and Most Streamed Song of the year for Sanam Re.

The Best Film Song and the The Most Popular Radio Song was bagged by ‘Gerua’ (‘Dilwale’), while Arjun Kanungo won the Best Pop Debut award. Badshah was adjudged Path Breaking Artist of the Year, while ‘Divine’ (Jungle Raja) was honoured with the Best Electronic Single of the Year award. The Best Debut Composer award was won by Ami Misra for ‘Hasi’ from ‘Hamari Adhuri Kahani’.

The star studded awards night also featured a special heartfelt tribute to Aadesh Shrivastava by legendary actor Amitabh Bachchan and Udit Narayan, Harshdeep Kaur, Lalit Pandit, Sidesh Bhosle and Divya Kumar in the presence of his family.

Said Wizcraft International director Sabbas Joseph,“Each year with GiMA, we try and bring together the Indian music as well as the film fraternity to honor the best musicians of our country. Over the years, Gionee Colors GiMA Awards has established itself as the most prestigious ceremonies that recognizes the hardwork and true achievements of the finest Indian musicians and their dedication to deliver hits year after year.”

One of the highlights of this year’s edition was the GiMA Fan Park in association with MTV, which took the awards celebrations to newer heights by providing a unique experience for all the music lovers to meet and greet their favourite stars. Hosted by RJ Nasar and J-Man from Red FM, a few lucky fans won an all access pass at the GiMA Fan park to be in the midst of leading Bollywood celebrities and musicians, like Shefali Alvares, Siddharth Mahadevan, Jeet Ganguly, Irfan Mohammad and many more, as they made their red carpet appearance and witnessed fun impromptu performances by famous music sensations such as Baba Sehgal, Papon, Shilpa Rao and Kanika Kapoor live in action.

The Gionee Colors GiMA Awards will air on Colors soon.

The complete list of awards –

1. Wizcraft Honour for Best Live Performer – Arijit Singh

2. Best Music Initiative – NH7 Weekender

3. Breakthrough Artiste of the Year – Badshah

4. GiMA MTV Rising Star - Anmol Malik

5. GiMA MTV Rising Star – ZanaiBhosle

6. GiMA MTV Viewers choice: Sooraj Dooba Hai from Roy

7. GiMA MTV Duet of the Year: Soch Na Sake from Airlift

8. Hungama music presents most Streamed Song of the year–Sanam Re

9. Most Popular Radio Song of the Year brought to you by Superhits 93.5 Red FM Bajaate Raho –Gerua

10. Song of the year: Amitabh Bachchan for Atrangi Yaari performed by a celebrity for the movie Wazir

Film Categories

11. Best Music Arranger & Programmer: Shail – Pritesh for Deewani Mastani from Bajirao Mastani. Additional programming by Nitin Shankar

12. Best Engineer: Tanay Gajjar for Bajirao Mastani

13. Best Background Score: Sanchit Balhara for Bajirao Mastani

14. Best Music Debut: Ami Mishra, Music Director of Hasi from Hamari Adhuri Kahani

15. Best Playback Singer – Female: Shreya Ghoshal for Deewani Mastani from Bajirao Mastani

16. Best Playback Singer – Male: Papon for Moh Moh Ke Dhaage from Dum Laga Ke Haisha

17. Best Duo/Group: Swati Sharma & Brijesh Shandilya for Banno Tera Swagger from Tanu Weds Manu Returns

18. Best Lyricist: Varun Grover for Moh Moh Ke Dhaage from Dum Laga Ke Haisha

19. Best Music Director: Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Bajirao Mastani

20. Best Film Song: Gerua

21. Best Film Album: Roy.

Non-Film Categories

1. Jagjit Singh Award for Best Music Debut Non – Film Music: Arjun Kanungo for Baaki Baatein Peene Baad (Nikke Nikke Shots)

2. Best Pop Song: It’s a tie! a. Saiyaan Bina by Sonu Nigam&Bickram Ghosh b. Dheere Dheere se MeriZindagi by YoYo Honey Singh

3. Best Rock Song: Dhima by Dhruv featuring Ila Arun & Dhruv Ghanekar  

4. Best Music Video: Main RahoonYa Na Rahoon by Armaan Malik

5. Best Electronica Single: Jungle Raaja by Nucleya featuring Divine

6. Best Fusion Album:Voyage by Dhruv featuring Various Artistes

7. Best Traditional Folk Single: Saawan by Mame Khan

8. Best Ghazal Album:ZikrTera by Roopkumar & SunaliRathod

9. Best Devotional Album: Krishna SudhaRas by Om Voices, Sonu Nigam, Akriti Kakkar, Shankar Mahadevan, SP Balasubramaniam and Kshitij Tarey

10. Best Hindustani Classical Album – Instrumental: Moods (RhythmExpress) by Pandit Vishwa Mohan Bhatt & Pandit Prodyut Mukherji