Comments (0)
Review |  24 Aug 2013 15:38 |  By RnMTeam


Label-T series

Music: Meet Bros, Anjjan, Chirantan Bhatt, Anand Raj Anand

Lyrics: Shabbir Ahmed, Ashraf Ali, Manoj Yadav

Singer: Mika Singh, Talia Bentson, Mamta Sharma, Meet Bros, Anjjan, Wajhi Farooki, Palak Muchhal, Sukhwinder Singh, Shabab Sabri, Shweta Pandit, Shreya Ghoshal.

The baritone voice of Insp Vijay Khanna to Sher Khan, ‘Jab tak baithne ko naa kaha jaaye sharaafat se khade raho. Yeh police station hai tumara Baap ka ghar nahi’ remains in the archives of our memories. With this film, emerged the angry young man, Amitabh Bachachan.

With an attempt to recreate yesteryear’s magic, Zanjeer is back again to enthrall the audiences. However the music fails to meet the expectations of the audiences. However the final verdict will only come from the audiences when the Apoorva Lakhia directed film will hit the silver screen on September 6. brings you the review of the album comprising six songs.

The first track in the jukebox is ‘Mumbai ka Hero’ which is a tribute to the 1973’s Zanjeer as it has some well placed feisty dialogue between Amitabh Bachchan and Pran.

One can ideally describe this song as a repetitious monotone created by a finger that just refuses to move from one of the keyboard. Lyrically, the track attempts to boost the spirit of Mumbai police. Mika Singh which was an obvious choice has given the vocals for the track and the sexy female voice is of Talia Bentson, contributes to the rapping part of the song, which could actually be avoided.

Now comes the item number Pinky sung by Mamta Sharma along with music composer Meet Bros and Anjjan. The video has ‘In my city’ singer in simple pink Indian fused western attire dancing to some energetic Marathi music. The songs has some double entendre lyrics like, ‘Mera network kabhi fail hota nahi
Har mohalle mein haaye mera tower khada.’ A while back, Munni and Sheila had become butt of joke, if this track becomes a hit then all the Pinky’s will have to be cautious. Shabbir Ahmed and Ashraf Ali have penned the lyrics for the Pinky track.

Complete transformation happens with next track ‘Lamha Tera Mera’ which is a really soothing melodious romantic track.  With the vocals of Palak Muchhal, who bagged glories from the song, ‘Chahu main ana’ from Aashiqui 2 and Wajhi Farooki, the song could be definitely the one which could do wonders, but is surely is under played. Kudos to the efforts of Chirantan Bhatt, who had earlier composed soundtrack for film 1920: Evil Returns. Yadav has done a good job with the lyrics as it is simple at the same time very magically which makes the track very soulful.

Here comes the qawwali track ‘Khochey Pathan Ki Zubaan’ which really does not create ripples. The song takes you back to the memory lane as it reminds you of, ‘Yaari Hai Iman,’ from Zajeer in 1973. The song is sung by Sukhwinder Singh and Shabab Sabri.

Shweta Pandit has sung the track Kaatilana. It is the vocals of Pandit that is the main catch of the graceful track which are accompanied with lyrics by Ahmed.

Next track is Shakila Banoo rendered by Shreya Ghoshal. It is not one of those tracks where one cannot imagine Ghoshal singing. It is an energetic track that would be mostly an item number.

Overall, the music album is average. Amongst the all the tracks, only energetic tracks like Pinky and Shakila Banoo will manage to create ripples.