| 09 Dec 2021
Dr. Jitendra Singh informs Tarun Gogoi about 18 new radio channels for NE

MUMBAI: Assam and other neighbour states will have 18 new FM radio channels and an exclusive Doordarshan channel ‘Arun Prabha’, stated Union Minister for Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER) and MoS PMO, Personnel, Public Grievances, Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr. Jitendra Singh.

This was among the other new initiatives taken by the Narendra Modi government in relation to Assam, which Singh informed the Assam CM Tarun Gogoi, during his two-day visit to Assam.

Singh also assured Gogoi that the Centre will provide full assistance to Assam. He further added that a number of recent decisions are undertaken with respect to Central aid and assistance, and mentioned that a recent grant of over Rs 27 crore of financial assistance will be given to Assam. The visit touched upon topics like various ongoing development projects, organic farming mission and prevailing political situation.

In North-East, three channels each will be launched in the six towns of Haflong and Dhubri in Assam, Jowai in Meghalaya, Lung-lei in Mizoram, Mokukchung in Nagaland and Belonia in Tripura. This is in addition to the existing 12 FM channels, which are already functional in the North-East.