| 06 Feb 2023
Downtown Records Launches Immortal Music Publishing

MUMBAI: On October 27, Downtown Records announced the launch of Immortal Music Publishing. The new venture, spearheaded by co-founders Josh Deutsh and Terence Lam, will take a two pronged approach to growth. Immortal Music Publishing will have a focus both on emerging talent and simultaneously look to grow the business through catalog acquisitions and administration and co-publishing agreements with established writers.

Immortal's initial slate of signings includes a world-wide administration agreement with No Other Music. No Other Music is a new music publishing endeavor formed by Jake Friedman and Jason Foster of the artist management company 'We Are Free', and Mike Sniper, founder of indie label Captured Tracks and Omnian Music Group. This agreement sees Immortal administer No Other Music's catalog including 2014 Polaris Music Prize nominee Mac DeMarco. "Jason, Mike and I are used to working from the ground up in all facets of artistes' careers, and No Other Music will be an extension of what we do best," said Friedman. "We are extremely excited to partner with the Immortal team, who share our values as an independently owned music company focused on emerging talent."

"Music Publishing is in our DNA as a business and we are thrilled to announce the launch of Immortal (Music Publishing) and its exceptional team," says Deutsch. "As in past endeavors, I see tremendous opportunity for growth in the publishing space. Immortal Music Publishing offers songwriters and artists the best quality services along with a premium administration platform. We have always been a very proactive sync licensing company, and with the expertise and energy of the Downtown/Immortal team, we are excited to work with the most compelling writers and catalogs to create and increase value."

In addition, Immortal has signed groundbreaking rapper/producer Le1f, who will release his XL Records debut in 2015, as well as agreements with a number of writers currently on the Downtown Records roster including: Ellis Ludwig-Leone (San Fermin), Amalie Bruun (Ex Cops), Thomas Arsenault (Mas Ysa), Dillon Groeneman (Slow Magic), Nicholas Principe (Port St. Willow), Lawrence Rothman, and Jona Bechtolt and Claire L. Evans (YACHT).

Deutsch and Lam have tapped Eric Scott as Vice President, Publishing Operations to lead the new division. Scott has most recently held senior positions at BMG Chrysalis and Spirit Music Group. Scott will be based in Immortal's New York headquarters and report directly to Deutsch and Lam.

"We are thrilled to have Eric spearheading Immortal," says Downtown Records Co-Chairman Lam. "He brings tremendous experience to the position and has already made a significant to Immortal's culture. Eric will be an incredible resource for the company's songwriters and business partners alike."