| 06 Feb 2023
Radio Mirchi presents the sixth edition of 'The Mirchi Music Awards South' awards

MUMBAI: Radio Mirchi, proudly presents the sixth edition of the awards that is a stunning reflection of the incredible achievements of the film music industry through the year 2014, with ‘The Mirchi Music Awards South 2014’.

This year the finale of this grand event, which brings together the music fraternity across all the four southern language film industries, will take place in Hyderabad on July 22nd at JRC Convention Centre.The time has come to celebrate the fantastic work of the year 2014 and to felicitate music maestros of the South Indian film music industry.

2014 was an interesting year for the Kannada music industry with around 117 movie releases with chartbuster music hits. The year saw the emergence of some outstanding new talent and bucking of established trends.  This year the music artists from South India get a chance to win 14 awards across popular categories. Keeping in mind the interest of radio listeners, there will be two special awards – Radio Mirchi Listener’s Choice awards given to ‘Best song of the year’ and ‘Best album of the year’ chosen by listeners vote. All other category awards are chosen by a panel of eminent Jury Members consisting of stalwarts from the film industry.

To make the jury process robust there are two sets of juries – the Screening Jury for screening and short listing of the entries in each category, and then the Grand Jury - with whom rests the task of finalizing the winners for each award. Each of the four South Indian languages will have separate Jury panels headed by a Chairman. The Chairman of the - Kannada Jury is T S Nagabharana. The entire process of screening, shortlisting and selection of winners is audited by Ernst & Young.

Radio Mirchi CEO Prashanth Pandey says, “The Mirchi Music Awards South has reached its 6th year and year on year this property has been growing in stature. It is wonderful to see that the quality of work and innovation in music, across the South, is reaching new heights and reaching all across the country!  This award is Radio Mirchi’s way of showing its love and respect to the industry that is an integral part of us. From screening to selection to the final awards, each process has been meticulously planned in a structured manner so that no deserving work goes unnoticed. I extend my best wishes to all the artists who are contributing immensely to film music and assure them of Radio Mirchi’s support in all their endeavors in the coming years.”

Speaking on the occasion, chairman of the jury – Kannada, T S Nagabharana says “In the midst of a lot of award ceremonies, I am very happy to be associated with Mirchi Music Awards simply because this is one award which is conducted in a very fair and unbiased manner. The very intent of the award is to recognize outstanding music talent and give everyone one a chance to win; hence the entire judging is done by a panel of jury members who are established professionals from the music and film fraternity. Furthermore, the entire process is audited to ensure the credibility of the awards! I know that the music fraternity in the Kannada film industry is looking forward to this award and the recognition it brings and needless to say the work of the Grand Jury has been a tough one with an amazing body of work showcased. Our congratulations to the creators of this fantastic work and very soon the best of the best will be felicitated at the grand event on July 22nd.”

The list of categories of the awards




  1. Song of the year
  2. Film album of the year
  3. Music composer
  4. Lyricist
  5. Male vocalist
  6. Female vocalist

Upcoming artist

  1. Male Vocal
  2. Female Vocal
  3. Music composer
  4. Lyricist

Mirchi listeners’ choice

  1. Song of the year
  2. Film album of the year


  1. Sound mixing


Industry Contribution

  1. Life time achievement award

Industry Contribution

  1. Special jury award for outstanding contribution to the film industry


The Grand Jury Members for Kannada are

 Grand Jury: 

1.       Indrajit Lankesh


2.       Gurukiran


3.       Arjun Janya


4.       V Manohar


5.       K Kalyan


6.       Sumana Kittur


7.       Kaviraj


8.       Sridhar V Sambhram


9.       Jassie Gift


10.   Manikanth Kadri


11.   K M Chaitanya


12.   Nagathihalli Chandrashekhar


Screening Jury :

1.       Sinchan Dixit


2.       Supriya Lohith


3.       Chandan Shetty


4.       Nobin Paul


5.       Shachina Heggar


6.       Supriya Raghunandan


7.       Indu Nagaraj


8.       Nakul Abhyankar


9.       Raghavendra B K