Comments (0)
Powered by
Sponsored by
Press Release |  29 Apr 2016 18:19 |  By RnMTeam

Veteran sound engineer Satish Gupta to receive IRAA Lifetime Achievement Award

MUMBAI: The Indian Recording Arts Academy Awards (IRAA) has announced that its highest honour, the IRAA Lifetime Achievement Award, will be presented to veteran sound engineer Satish Gupta, during the IRAA awards ceremony which will take place on Saturday, 28 May 2016 at the Hall 4 VIP Parking Area, Bombay Exhibition Centre, Mumbai.

The IRAA committee awards the Lifetime Achievement Award to an individual who has had a successful career in the Music and Sound industry, and has made a significant contribution to the Indian music recording industry. The IRAA Lifetime Achievement Award honours Satish Gupta for having distinguished himself in both of these categories.

After completing his diploma in sound engineering from Film and Television Institute of India (FTII), Pune Satish Gupta’s career began at the R.K. films studios as an asst. maintenance engineer with Allaudin Khan. Later he joined a radio advertising agency and worked with Bal Govind Shrivastava, where he worked on radio programmes and recorded most of the super hit film radio programmes for two years. After a brief stint at Hoechst Pharma Company as an audio-visual engineer, he joined Bombay film laboratories and worked there for 17 years as a sound recordist under chief recording engineer B.N. Sharma. In 1992, he joined Super Cassette industries (T-series) with late Gulshan Kumar and it was over there that he started the first 24- track recording set-up in the country. In his career spanning more than 40 years, Gupta has served as a chief recording engineer in various other studios like Sahara India TV Network and Krishna audio.

Gupta has recorded for the best voices in the film industry like Mohammed Rafi, Kishore Kumar, Lata Mangeshkar, Mannadey, Asha Bhosle, Usha Mangeshkar, Kumar Sanu, Udit Narayan, Naushad, Salil Choudhary, Shakar-Jaikishan, O.P. Nayyar, Dr. Bhupen Hazarika, Anuradha Paudwal, Jagjit Singh, Abhijeet, Alka Yagnik, Sadhana Sargam, Kavita Krishnamurthy and many more.

He has worked on super hit films like ‘Main Hoon Na’, ‘Murder’, ‘Kalyug’, ‘Zeher’, ‘Akele Hum Akele Tum’, ‘Andaz Apna Apna’, ‘Border’, ‘Kareeb’, ‘Chinagate’, ‘1942 - A Love Story’ and ‘Ishq’, to name a few, and has to his credit has chartbusters like ‘Bheege Honth Tere’, ‘Kaho Na Pyaar Hai’ and ‘Sandese Aate Hain’ from the film Border for which he won the Zee Cine Award for best song recording. He has also won the IIFA awards for best song recording for ‘Kache Dhaage’, ‘Kaho Na Pyaar Hain’, ‘Koi Mil Gaya’ and ‘Murder’.

Gupta also has to his credit the design of two recording studios in Delhi, Katharas Studios and Divine Digital Studios.