Comments (0)
News |  16 Feb 2015 19:00 |  By RnMTeam

Ek Villain, Citylights and Happy New Year lead nominations for Mirchi Music Awards

MUMBAI: The nominations for the Mirchi Music Awards have been announced, and the Siddharth Malhotra and Shraddha Kappor starrer 'Ek Villain' lead the pack with eight nominations. 'Citylights' and 'Happy New Year' have each bagged seven nominations in different categories.

The Song of the Year category includes names like 'Muskurane- Romantic' from 'Citylights', 'Galliyan' from 'Ek Villain', 'Manwa Laage' from 'Happy New Year', 'Zehnaseeb' from 'Hasee Toh Phasee' and 'London Thumakda' from 'Queen'.

The Album of the Year category has nominations like 'Citylights' composed by Jeet Gannguli, 'Ek Villain'
composed by Ankit Tiwari, Mithoon, Rabbi Ahmad, Adnaan Dhool. The other nominations include 'Gunday' composed by Sohail Sen, 'Queen' composed by Amit Trivedi and '2 States' composed by Shankar Ehsaan Loy.

Arijit Singh has three nominations for Vocalist (Male) of the Year. He has been nominated for his songs 'Muskurane', 'Manwa Lage' and 'Samjhawa' from 'Citylights', 'Happy New Year' and 'Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhaniya' respectively. He will be competing against Ankit Tiwari for 'Galliyan' and Vishal Dadlani' for 'Bang Bang'.

 Shreya Ghoshal is nominated for 'Manwa Lage' and 'Samjhawa' from the films 'Happy New Year' and 'Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhania'. The Vocalist (Female) of the Year category also includes Chinmayi Sripada for the track 'Zehnaseeb' from 'Hasee Toh Phasee',  Nooran sisters for 'Pataka Guddi' from 'Highway' and Kanika Kapoor' for 'Baby Doll' from the film 'Ragini MMS2'.

Jeet Gannguli bagged a nomination for Best Composer of the Year for his compositions in the film 'Citylights'. The other nominations include Ankit Tiwari for 'Galliyan', Vishal Bharadwaj for the song 'Bismil', Vishal Shekhar for 'Manwa Lage' and Shankar Ehsaan Loy for the track 'Mast Magan'.

Rashmi Singh has also been nominated for Lyricist of the Year for her lyrics in 'Citylights'. She will be competing against Manoj Muntashir for his song 'Galliyan', Gulzar for the track 'Bismil', Irshad Kamil for the song 'Manwa Lage' and Kausar Munir for the song 'Suno Na Sangemarmar'.

Click here for full nominations: