Comments (0)
News |  02 Feb 2015 19:00 |  By RnMTeam

Did Ankit win against Arijit at the Filmfare Awards?

MUMBAI:  Yashraj Studios in Mumbai, witnessed a dazzling Filmfare night. Accolades rained down on the deserving performers of the year 2014. The award ceremony was hosted by renowned comedian Kapil Sharma, director Karan Johar and actress Alia Bhatt.

The Best Music Director award went to Shankar Ehsaan Loy for their album '2 States'. Other nominations in the same category included Amit Trivedi for the film 'Queen', Arko Pravo Mukherjee, Honey Singh, Mithoon and Pritam for the movie 'Yariyaan', Himesh Reshammiya, Meet Bros Anjjan and Honey Singh for 'Kick', and Mithoon, Ankit Tiwari and SOCH for 'Ek Villain'.

Rashmi Singh walked away with the award for Best Lyrics for the song 'Muskurane ki wajah' from the film 'CityLights'. She won against Amitabh Bhattacharya for the song 'Zehnaseeb' from 'Hasee Toh Phasee', Gulzar for 'Bismil' from the film 'Haider', Irshad Kamil for 'Patakha Guddi' from the film 'Highway' and Kausar Munir for the romantic song 'Suno na sangemarmar' from the movie 'Youngistaan'.

Ankit Tiwari won the award for Best Playback Singer (Male) for the song 'Galliyan' from the film 'Ek Villain'. Arijit Singh received a couple of nominations for the songs 'Mast magan' from '2 States' and 'Suno na sangemarmar' from 'Youngistaan'. Benny Dayal received a nomination for 'Locha-E-Ulfat' from the film '2 States' and Shekhar Ravjiani for 'Zehnaseeb' from 'Hasee Toh Phasee'.

Singer Kanika Kapoor won Best Playback Singer (female) for the song 'Baby Doll' from the film 'Ragini MMS 2'. Others nominated in the same category included Jyoti Nooran and Sultana Nooran for 'Patakha Guddi' from the film 'Highway', Rekha Bhardwaj for the track 'Humari atariya pe' from 'Dedh Ishqiya', Shreya Ghoshal for 'Manwa Lage'  from the film 'Happy New Year' and Sona Mahapatra for the song 'Naina' from the film 'Khoobsurat'.

Singer Composer Amit Trivedi walked away with the award for the Best Background Score for the film 'Queen'. The other nominations from the same category were A Rahman for 'Highway', Julius Packiam for 'Mardaani', Mathias Duplessey for 'Finding Fanny' and Rohit Kulkarni for 'Mary Kom'.