Comments (0)
Powered by
Sponsored by
News |  24 Jul 2020 11:29 |  By RnMTeam

Taylor Swift records in isolation; surprises fans with new album 'Folklore'

MUMBAI: While in isolation, Taylor Swift has created a new album and is releasing it Friday.

The pop star made the surprise announcement Thursday on Twitter. “Folklore”, her eighth record, comes less than a year after she dropped Lover.

View this post on Instagram

Most of the things I had planned this summer didn’t end up happening, but there is something I hadn’t planned on that DID happen. And that thing is my 8th studio album, folklore. Surprise Tonight at midnight I’ll be releasing my entire brand new album of songs I’ve poured all of my whims, dreams, fears, and musings into. I wrote and recorded this music in isolation but got to collaborate with some musical heroes of mine; @aarondessner (who has co-written or produced 11 of the 16 songs), @boniver (who co-wrote and was kind enough to sing on one with me), William Bowery (who co-wrote two with me) and @jackantonoff (who is basically musical family at this point). Engineered by Laura Sisk and Jon Low, mixed by Serban Ghenea & Jon Low. The album photos were shot by the amazing @bethgarrabrant. Before this year I probably would’ve overthought when to release this music at the ‘perfect’ time, but the times we’re living in keep reminding me that nothing is guaranteed. My gut is telling me that if you make something you love, you should just put it out into the world. That’s the side of uncertainty I can get on board with. Love you guys so much

A post shared by Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) on

A music video for the album’s lead single, “cardigan,” directed by Swift, was also released in the night.

Swift announced in a separate post that she brought “Brokeback Mountain” cinematographer Rodrigo Prieto on board.

“The entire shoot was overseen by a medical inspector, everyone wore masks, stayed away from each other,” Swift wrote, adding that she did her own hair and makeup for the shoot.

Take a look at the tracklist for “folklore” below.

“The 1”


“The Last Great American Dynasty”

“Exile” (featuring Bon Iver)

“My Tears Ricochet”




“This Is Me Trying”

“Illicit Affairs”

“Invisible String”

“Mad Woman”





“The Lakes” (Bonus Track)