Comments (0)
News |  17 Jul 2017 19:02 |  By RnMTeam

IIFA music award winners 2017

MUMBAI: The 18th edition of IIFA awards came to a glitzy end last weekend, but the memories of this glamorous award show that also had to deal with some raindrops are not fading that soon. The awards will be remembered and so will the performances and some aftermath. However, not getting into the details of this extravagant affair Radioandmusic gets you the list of music award recipients.

For the Best Lyrics category, nominated were Amitabh Bhattacharya for Channa Mereya (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil), Gulzar for Aave Re Hitchki (Mrzya) and Tanvir Ghazi for Tu Chal (Pink). The award went to Amitabh Bhattacharya for Channa Mereya, one of the most loved songs till date.

In the Best Music Director category, the nominees were Amaal Malik for M.S Dhoni, Pritam for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil and Amit Trivedi for Udta Punjab. Undoubtedly, Pritam grabbed the award for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil.

Coming to the next category, Best Male Playback Singer had a tough competition with nominees like Arijit Singh for Channa Mereya (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil), Amit Mishra for Bulleya (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil) and Diljit Dosanjh for Ikk Kudi (Udta Punjab). Bulleya by Amit Mishra took the award back home.

The most exciting award for the eve was for Best Female Playback Singer category. The industry gave us such beautiful songs in the female voice that the jury could not settle for one award. From the nominees like Kanika Kapoor for Da Da Dasse (Udta Punjab), Neha Bhasin for Jag Ghoomeya (Sultan) and Tulsi Kumar for Soch Na Sake (Airlift). The two talented ladies Kanika Kapoor and Tulsi Kumar bagged the award.

AR Rahman who completes 25 years in the music industry this year was not just celebrated at IIFA, along with his spectacular performance at IIFA Rocks, but he also bagged an award for Special Contribution to Indian Cinema.