Comments (0)
News |  06 Apr 2017 18:20 |  By RnMTeam

"IPRS has turned over a new page and a new chapter," says Javed Akhtar, Chairman IPRS

MUMBAI: In fresh elections held after more than a decade in the revamped IPRS, in which both the authors (music composers and lyricists) and publishers (music labels) participated the renowned poet and writer, Javed Akhtar was unanimously elected as the chairman of the new board. The elections marked the beginning of a new dawn and Akhtar makes it clear in a statement given to the press. 

Also Read: Javed Akhtar takes over the reins of IPRS; Achille Forler named Permanent Advisor

Javed Akhtar said, “IPRS has turned over a new page and a new chapter has started, where there is no WE and THEM, only US. Writers, composers and publishers have risen above the past conflicts and have taken a pledge to work together for the enhancement of Indian Music Industry’s reach and prosperity.”

The revamped IPRS has adopted a new working constitution and is fully in sync with the Amended Copyright Act. The primary objective of this constitution is to ensure rightful royalty flow to all rights owners while simplifying licensing process for the end users.

“This is a historic moment for the music industry and will act as a catalyst for growth for all stakeholders. We look forward to IPRS achieving new heights under the leadership of Javed Saab,” said Saregama India Ltd Managing Director Vikram Mehra.

The newly elected members on the board are Javed Akhtar, Shridhar Subramaniam, Aashish Rego, Kumar Taurani, Rajinder Singh Panesar, Devraj Sanyal, G.V. Prakash Kumar, Ganesh Jain, Anupam Roy, Mandar Thakur, Sahithi Cherukupalli and Vikram Mehra.