Comments (0)
News |  02 Mar 2016 18:25 |  By Kavita Yadav

Sa Re Ga Ma Pa selections get a new twist

MUMBAI: Zee TV's Sa Re Ga Ma Pa is back, this time, as a bigger brand than ever. The new season of the singing reality show will have some fresh elements. One such interesting element is a 30 member jury panel.

Wondering what we are talking about. Let us simplify this for you.

Apart from the four judges - Mika Singh, Pritam Chakraborty, and Sajid-Wajid, there will be a jury of 30 members that will collectively decide on the 'Top 100' contestants for the latest season of Sa Re Ga Ma Pa.

Basically, all 30 members will cast their votes on contestants appearing in the audition rounds. However, only the ones who score 50 per cent on the basis of the jury votes and also judges votes will move to the next round.

So, who will this jury consist of? From what we hear, they are Bollywood playback singers, singers, technicians, legendary classical singers and others who are associated with the process of making music in some way or the other.

Some names that are a part of this jury are - Jubin Nautiyal of 'Meherbani' fame, 'Suno Aisha' singer Ash King, Divya Kumar and Mohammed Irfan.

However, there is no clarity on the jury being a part of the show post the auditions.

A source from the show confirmed the same.

The earlier seasons of Sa Re Ga Ma Pa have always seen the judges decide on the selection of the contestants. However, the 2012 season of Sa Re Ga Ma Pa had witnessed a slight change in the format with live audience voting for the contestants during the audition round. Back then too the contestants had to wait for both audience and judges votes to reach the next round of auditions.

Aditya Narayan who has hosted Sa Re Ga Ma Pa in the past will be seen hosting the show yet again.