Comments (0)
News |  17 Oct 2006 02:35 |  By RnMTeam

Rishi Kapoor bags maha style icon at MTV Style Awards

MUMBAI: MTV Style Awards 2006 recognizing the best in the sphere of style and proving that everything can be done in style was held on 14 October, in Mumbai. This years style award was bagged by Rishi Kapoor was bestowed the Maha Style Icon of the Year award. Preity Zinta and Shahrukh Khan were voted the Most Stylish Person in Films titles in the male and female categories respectively, with their movie Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna` also winning Most Stylish Film.

The award function will be aired on MTV on 28 October at the stylish time of 8:30pm.

In television, Rajeev Khandelwal of SAB TV`s serial `Left Right Left` retained the title of Most Stylish Host on Television (male) whereas his co-star Shweta Salve bagged the Award in the female category. Mr Bajaj or Ronit Roy won the award for the Most stylish actor on television. In the sports category, MS Dhoni was chosen as the Most Stylish Person and Amaan and Ayaan Ali was declared the Most Stylish Person in Music.

In the Honours category, Jay Panda was declared Most Stylish Person in business and then, in the technical category, Narendra K Ahmed was declared the Most Stylish Fashion Designer of the Year and Manisha Malhotra the Most Stylish Bollywood Designer of the Year. Shahwar Ali finally broke Upen Patel`s hold over the Most Stylish Person (male) on Ramp title.

Hosted by the Karan Johar along with MTV VJs Anusha and Sophie, the show was trademark MTV wackiness effortlessly merged with music, style and fashion and punctuated with show-stopping displays. The designers presented their lines to the music of their partnering artistes in keeping with the theme for the year - `Celebrating Style`.

Never-before collaborations between musicians and designers starting with an opening act by Ram Sampat featuring Sona paired with Suneet Verma, Anu Malik teaming up with Ritu Kumar for a performance of an original composition, Pritam with Rohit Gandhi & Rahul Khanna, Bappi Lahiri with Neeta Lulla and finally Shantanu Moitra with JJ Valaya. Bangalore-based designer Deepika Govind designed special outfits for MTV VJs, host Karan Johar and select music personalities performing at the Style Awards.