Comments (0)
News |  27 May 2011 16:19 |  By RnMTeam

Red FM and Mirchi sweep maximum honours at IRF awards

MUMBAI: Red FM and Radio Mirchi were the big winners with 12 awards each, at the sixth Indian Excellence in Radio Awards 2011.

Red FM continued its tradition of winning the Best FM Station, Creative Campaign and Media Campaign award just like the last year, and Red FMs most popular Malishka bagged the RJ of the year. The station also won two awards for advertising campaigns with the Most Outstanding Use of Radio in an Ad Campaign – Idea Cellular – Muthuswamy and Best CSR initiative from an Advertiser – Balmer Lawrie & Co. Limited – Red Cares.

93.5 Red FM RJ Malishka told, It's great and god has been kind as I have won most of the IRF awards, and the entire Red FM team comes in full excitement to grace the event every year.

Radio Mirchi matched Red's tally bagging 12 awards including, RJ of the Year (Hindi – For Non-Metro Stations)  - Anmol, Best On Ground/Activation by an FM Station for Mirchi Music Awards, Excellence in New Media Initiative for Mirchi Mobile.

Radio Mirchi 98.3 FM sr. vice president creative head Ranjit Madgavkar said, We are thrilled to win maximum awards in the event and for the first time in the history of Radio Mirchi we have won so many award. It feels absolutely gratifying to get recognized for the creative work of the entire team of Radio Mirchi across its 32 stations....

The second position was taken by Radio City with seven awards while Big FM with Radio Mango bagged three awards each. Other winners include Club FM and Hello FM 106.4 with one award. Tata Docomo grabbed the Best Use of Music / Song / Jingle by an Advertiser in a Radio Spot for Tata Docomo Rajasthan Launch.

Click here for the event slideshow

'Radio Pitch' challenge among the advertising agencies was won by Mindshare Fulcrum who was rewarded with a pair of Grandstand tickets worth US$2070 to the 2011 Formula 1 Singtel Singapore Grand Prix (23-25 September) while the runner up Lodestar UM won goodies from Big FM.

Click here for the complete list of the awards