Comments (0)
Press Release |  02 Aug 2013 11:15 |  By RnMTeam

Coke Studio@MTV Season 3 brings India's finest music producers and singers

MUMBAI: Coke Studio@MTV - a platform that bridges divides by showcasing the musical diversity of India, is back with Season 3. The show which will premiere on 17 August  on MTV brings together eminent music producers and music artists from different parts of the country. While A R Rahman, Salim Sulaiman and Ram Sampath will make their debut, Amit Trivedi, Clinton Cerejo, Hitesh Sonik, Papon will build on the success of Season 2.

Coke Studio@MTV, Season 3 was launched in Mumbai by the music producers along with Sukhwinder Singh, lyricist, screenplay writer and adman Prasoon Joshi along with Coca-Cola Happiness Ambassadors - Alia Bhatt, Varun Dhawan and Siddhartha Malhotra. 

Launching Coke Studio@MTV, Season 3, Integrated marketing communications, Coca-Cola India director Wasim Basir said, “The platform is Coca-Cola’s unique viewpoint on music, because much like Coca-Cola, it brings together things that usually do not come together. That said, every year, we ask ourselves, what is new and refreshing this year. And we say – it’s the music. This year we have got some of India’s best music talents to do what they like doing – composing music that they would want to hear. We are hoping that the audience too will like the compositions, as they have done it in the past two seasons.”

MTV India EVP and business head Aditya Swamy, , said “3 years, 150 songs and countless magical moments… It’s been an incredible journey and today Coke Studio at MTV has become the definitive platform for Independent music in the country. This year we have pushed the boundaries even further on the collaborations and the look is totally avant garde. A very special audio visual experience is ready to unfold”         

Giving the audience a glimpse into what they can expect in the upcoming season, the launch of Coke Studio@MTV Season 3 saw the unveiling of the happiness song - ‘Zariya’ - composed by A R Rahman, with lyrics by Prasoon Joshi. Based around the theme of motherhood and compassion, this track gives a whole new spin to the term ‘world music’.

Building the excitement prior to the on-air launch, the song ‘Bismillah’ a sufi-influenced composition by Salim-Sulaiman will be announced on the occasion of Eid.

Joining the composers to produce the best music on Coke Studio@MTV Season 3, the show boasts of an enviable ensemble of singers and bands. This season will not only see known artists coming together but will also promote international singers with exceptional talents - The Buddhist Nun Ani Choying Drolma & the Jordanian Singer Farah Siraj, rappers – Blaaze and traditional & folk artists – Des Raj Lachkani, Barmer Boys, Bhavnari Devi, Kalpana Patowary. Musical heavyweights - Padmabhushan Ustad Ghulam Mustafa Khan, Ustad Rashid Khan, Aruna Sairam, Karsan Sagthia will also be crooning for various tracks. Popular Singers – Hans Raj Hans, Shalmali Kholgade, Tochi Raina, Harshdeep Kaur, Vijay Prakash, Benny Dayal, Siddharth Basrur, Nikhil D'souza, Piyush Mishra, Sona Mohapatra, Sonu Kakkar, Sunidhi Chauhan, Kailash Kher, Sukvinder Singh  are also a part of this season.

Coke Studio@MTV Season 3 is produced and broadcasted by Viacom 18 in association with Coca-Cola India Pvt. Ltd. Sony Music is the official music partner. This year, Coke Studio kick started with a series of recordings at the famous state-of-the-art Reliance Media Works Studio in Mumbai and the rehearsals at Whistling Woods International.